Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Council Assessment Panel

Pursuant to Section 56A of the repealed Development Act 1993  in accordance with the Schedule 8 of the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Act 2016.

Council has established a Committee known as the Town of Walkerville Council Assessment Panel (CAP) for the purpose of acting as the 'relevant authority' (as that term is defined in the repealed Development Act 1993) in respect of all development control matters.

The Council Assessment Panel operates separately from Council as a development assessment authority and has its own procedures, terms of reference and protocols.

The Council Assessment Panel consists of the following members:

  • Mr Michael Doherty - Presiding Member;
  • Mr Ross Bateup;
  • Mr Arron Broom;
  • Ms Zoe Garnaut; and
  • Cr John Zeppel.

The Council Assessment Panel meets every second Monday of each month at 5.30pm in the Walkerville Council Chambers in the Civic & Community Centre at 66 Walkerville Terrace, Gilberton.

The business to be considered at the Council Assessment Panel meeting is set out on the Agenda. Agendas for upcoming 
meetings along with Minutes of previous meetings can be accessed via the link below:

Council Assessment Panel Agenda and Minutes

The public and media are welcome at meetings, however, there are general protocols for those wishing to observe the proceedings.

Members of the gallery cannot take part in debate at meetings, do not need to stay for the entire meeting and may leave quietly at any time.

On some occasions, parts of the meeting may be closed to the public when matters of a confidential nature are being discussed.

Related CAP documents